Breaking News

Cannes: 2021 Movie Winners |

Jury and Award Winners – Photograph Closing Ceremony 2021 © Valery Hache / AFP

“It’s been an distinctive Pageant. It was imagined to be, and it’s actually lived as much as its promise. For 12 days, the 74th Pageant de Cannes has celebrated our reunion with the cinema as an incredible worldwide occasion filled with discoveries, encounters and sharing.

On the stage of the Grand Théâtre Lumière, the Grasp of Ceremonies, Doria Tillier, was joined by the Function Movie Jury chaired by Spike Lee and composed of Mati Diop, Mylène Farmer, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jessica Hausner, Mélanie Laurent, Kleber Mendonça Filho, Tahar Rahim and Track Kang-ho, for the announcement of the 2021 Awards.”

Function Movies
Palme d’or
TITANE directed by Julia DUCOURNAU

“The award was introduced by Sharon Stone and Spike Lee.

Julia DUCOURNAU mentioned: “There may be a lot magnificence and emotion to be present in what can’t be pigeonholed. Thanks to the Jury for calling for extra range in our movie experiences and in our lives. And thanks to the Jury for letting the monsters in.

Grand Prix (ex aequo)
GHAHREMAN (A Hero) directed by Asghar FARHADI

HYTTI N°6 (Compartment N°6) directed by Juho KUOSMANEN

The award was introduced by the American director Oliver Stone.

Asghar FARHADI mentioned: “I bear in mind, it was thirty-six years in the past. I used to be 13 years outdated and I made my first brief movie with the assets I had obtainable. Since then, I’ve been writing and making movies, regardless of the difficulties, regardless of the pressures. I proceed to have the hope of questioning society round me and elevating consciousness.

Juho KUOSMANEN mentioned: “The final two weeks have appeared so lengthy. This movie is the story of a relationship between two folks, however all tales contain relationships between folks.”

Finest Director

The award was introduced by Italian actress and director Valeria Golino.

Ron and Russell Mael, the Sparks duo, mentioned: “Eight years in the past Ron and I got here to Cannes. We met Leos Carax for the primary time and thanked him for utilizing considered one of our songs in his movie Holy Motors. He is a good French director, an incredible filmmaker. We’re very touched to have performed a job on this undertaking.”

Finest Screenplay

The award was introduced by British director and screenwriter Andrea Arnold.

HAMAGUCHI Ryusuke mentioned: “I’m clearly pondering of the creator of the brief story that impressed this movie, Haruki Murakami. I additionally wish to make it clear that I didn’t write this script alone. TAKAMASA Oe is a full-time screenwriter, however he continuously encourages me to put in writing. I’m very grateful to him. It’s a really lengthy movie however he all the time inspired me to undergo with the undertaking. I wish to thank the individuals who put the script into photos. Should you appreciated it, it was properly acted and I additionally wish to thank my actors. They contributed significantly to the success of the movie.”

Jury Prize (ex aequo)
MEMORIA directed by Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL

HA’BERECH (Ahed’s Knee) directed by Nadav LAPID

The award was introduced by British actor Rosamund Pike.

Nadav LAPID mentioned: “Earlier than the taking pictures, the scenario was very delicate and complex. My producer requested me if I believed we might do it: I mentioned sure, however I’m a director, I say sure to every little thing! She selected to imagine me, and in that she was irrational and reckless. These are probably the most stunning qualities one can should make movies. Thanks to all of the irrational and reckless folks on the earth.”

Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL mentioned: “Thanks to our groups in Colombia and Mexico, it’s to you that I dedicate this award. Tilda Swinton, Jeanne Balibar, Agnes Brekke… You will have given me the best present of the spirit. Tilda, we talked quite a bit about this dream, and right here we’re. You might be some of the outstanding human beings, you’ve gotten taken me underneath your wing and I’m vert fortunate to be with you.

Finest Efficiency by an Actress
Renate REINSVE in VERDENS VERSTE MENNESKE (The Worst Individual within the World)
directed by Joachim TRIER

The award was introduced by South Korean actor LEE Byung-hun.

Renate REINSVE mentioned: “This award goes to so many individuals. It was a collective effort, every little thing got here collectively so simply!

Finest Efficiency by an Actor
directed by Justin KURZEL

The award was introduced by French actress Adèle Exarchopoulos.

Quick Movies
Palme d’or
TIAN XIA WU YA (All of the Crows within the World) directed by TANG Yi

Particular Point out
CÉU DE AGOSTO (August Sky) directed by Jasmin TENUCCI

The Palme d’Or and the Particular Point out had been introduced by Sameh Alaa, member of the Jury for Quick Movies and Palme d’Or for Quick Movies 2020, and Mounia Meddour, member of the Un Sure Regard Jury.

Jasmin TENUCCI mentioned: “I’m very glad. That is my second brief movie, I had a restricted finances, my producer simply turned 25 and my actress is freelance. If you wish to work with an incredible actress, come and ask me!”

Honorary Palme d’or
Simply as American actress-director Jodie Foster was awarded an honorary Palme d’Or on the Opening Ceremony on 6 Might, Italian filmmaker Marco BELLOCCHIO has obtained the excellence this night for his distinctive profession.

The trophy was introduced to him by Paolo Sorrentino.

Marco Bellocchio mentioned: “I wish to share this award with all of the people who find themselves a part of my movie household. I’m very moved. I’m very glad that you’ve got remembered Michel Piccoli, with whom I labored. He and Anouk Aimée had been awarded the performing prize for A Leap within the Darkish (Le Saut dans le vide) in 1979. The issues I’ve achieved I’ve achieved with creativeness and braveness. A director has to have the ability to exhibit these qualities.”

Caméra d’or
MURINA directed by Antoneta Alamat KUSIJANOVIĆ unveiled within the body of LA QUINZAINE DES RÉALISATEURS

The Caméra d’or was introduced by Mélanie Thierry, President of the Jury of this First Movie Choice.

The winner was represented by the movie’s co-writer, Frank Graziano, who mentioned: “The director put all her coronary heart into making the movie, she gave beginning to her first youngster yesterday and is watching the ceremony from Dubrovnik.”

Increased Technical Fee (CST)
CST Artist-Technician Prize
Vladislav OPELIANTS (Russia), CHIEF DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY, PETROV’S FLU, by Kirill Serebrennikov

CST Younger Movie Technician Award

Un Sure Regard
Un Sure Regard Prize
RAZZHIMAYA KULAKI (Unclenching the Fists)

directed by Kira KOVALENKO

Jury Prize

directed by Sebastian MEISE

Ensemble Prize

directed by Hafsia HERZI

Braveness Prize

directed by Teodora Ana MIHAI

Prize of Originality

directed by Valdimar JÓHANNSSON

Particular Point out
NOCHE DE FUEGO (Prayers for the Stolen)

directed by Tatiana HUEZO

First Prize
L’ENFANT SALAMANDRE (The Salamander Little one)

directed by Théo Degen

INSAS, Belgium

Second Prize

directed by Yoon Daewoen

Korea Nationwide College of Arts, South Korea

Joint Third Prize

directed by Carina-Gabriela Dașoveanu



directed by Rodrigo Ribeyro

Academia Internacional de Cinema, Brazil

The ultimate Screening of the 74th Pageant de Cannes: OSS 117, Alerte rouge en Afrique noire (From Africa with Love), the third a part of the adventures of Hubert Bonisseur de la Tub was proven to festival-goers on the finish of the Awards Ceremony within the presence of director Nicolas Bedos, actors Jean Dujardin and Pierre Niney and solid and crew.”

Textual content and picture courtesy The Pageant of Cannes

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *